Definition of utopia

u·to·pi·a (noun)

an imagined place or state of things in which everything is perfect.

But then, how do we define “perfect”?

per·fect (adj. / verb)

having all the required or desirable elements, qualities, or characteristics; as good as it is possible to be.

Now then, what are the desirable elements, qualities and characteristics?

How can things ever be as good as possible when our desires and conscious are often times conflicting with one another? And do we consider others’ desires for perfection? What if I hate black mushrooms but all my friend ever wanted was to eat and see black mushroom everyday in his life? Is perfection a self-centre concept?

Maybe it will be easier to execute it when I break it down day by day, moment by moment, in  my room.

Right now I desire to have my dog by my feet so my often freezing toes can have some warmth, drink some Oolong in a ceramic cup, and have my life sorted out. And a whale with a dumpling stall on its back fly by my window. The old man selling the dumplings then waves and asks if I want a bowl.

“Two please. Can I add extra dipping sauce?”

Grant me an utopia.

Leave a Reply

